Contact Us:

670 Lafayette Ave, Brooklyn,
NY 11216

+1 800 966 4564
+1 800 9667 4558

Our Courses

Pillars of Islam and Belief System

The practice of Islam means to submit yourself to Allah. S.W.T. This submission is based on the tenets of Islam which are called pillars of Islam. All Muslims should perform and take care of these 5 pillars of Islam. These are explained below:

1- Profession of Faith (Shahadah)
This is the first pillar of Islam and the most basic aspect of the Islamic Belief System. It says that there is no God but Allah and Prophet Muhammad S.A.W is his messenger. The profession of this makes someone a Muslim and then he/she becomes liable to practice it through the whole life. It tells that Islam is the religion of one God who is Allah and that is the fact. It is stated in Arabic: (لَا إِلٰهَ إِلَّا الله مُحَمَّدٌ رَسُولُ الله).

2- Daily Prayer (Salah)
Every Muslim is supposed to pray five times a day. Males are supposed to go to the Masjid and pray there with all other Muslims and women stay at home to recite it. Prayers are performed facing Makkah and there are some conditions that are to be met before doing Salah. The prayer is symbole of submission and reverence towards Allah S.W.T as one stands ting hands in frond of Him, bowing down, kneeling, and touching the ground with forehead. On Friday all Muslims get to gather at midday for Jumma Prayer and then there is sermon Khutba as well. There are some other especially prayers for which Muslims gathered and these are Eid ul Fitar, Eid ul Adha, and Funeral Prayer.

3- Alms Giving ( Zakah)
Alms giving is the third pillar of Islam. It is mentioned in the Holy Quran many times and mentioned in the Salah as well. It is commanded to share the wealth with those who are less fortunate in the society of Muslims. It is obligatory upon those who have enough wealth and up to Nisaab, which is a scale to measure if you are under the obligation or not. If a Muslim reaches that Nisaab he must spare 2.5% of it for the poor. It is the right of the poor according to the commands of the Holy Quran.

4- Fasting (Siyaam)
Muslims are expected to fast from dawn to dusk in the ninth month of the Islamic calendar. That is the month of Ramadan and the fourth pillar of Islam. All elders men and women are expected to refrain from eating drinking and other forbidden things during daylight time. Fast has a special purpose which is to feel the pains of others who are hungry and thirsty. It teaches patience and tolerance. It is the source of nearness to Allah S.W.T.

5- Pilgrimage to Makkah (Hajj)
The fifth pillar of Islam is the make the pilgrimage to Makkah. Those who are able and have the financial resources to bear the expenses are supposed to visit Makkah once in their lives. This includes performing (Tawaf) seven rounds around the Kabah, drinking the Zamzam water, going to two rocks fSafa and Marwa, and visiting Minna and Arafaat. A Muslim who is visiting Makkhah is also supposed to visit the Holy city of Madina and say Durrood and Salams to prophet Muhammad S.A.W.

We teach the kids about the learn Islam especially prayers and the way how to perform them. Let us know join and learn the Pillars of Islam